REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE
Forever and Always
An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.
Materials Needed:
- 3 Prepared Masks of choice.
- Scrap kit by Liadan Called Forever & Always
- Tube by the artist of your choice. I am using Barbara Jensen. Please do not use this image unless you have a license to do so. This tube can be found in the Mini Pack CC found under the Mini Packs category.
Tips:
- Right click the thumbnail of a layer and Select Pixels for the same effect of the PSP float/defloat option.
- Using layer masks, you can erase portions of a layer without destroying the layer.
- Clipping masks are your friend.
- Use the wand tool to select the inside of frames and then Selection > Modify > Expand: 5-10 pixels. Then add a new layer below and fill with white. This will add the inside to your frames.
Open a new 550x550 pixel canvas.
Flood fill the first layer with white.
Do the following steps to all of your masks.
★
Be sure you have prepared your masks. (link in the list ▲)
Open a paper of choice and place it over the mask.
Right click the paper layer in the layers pallet and choose Create Clipping Mask.
Right click the paper layer again and choose Merge Down.
Right click the mask layer and Duplicate layer.
DO NOT HIT OK YET
In the Destination Document dropdown box, find the name of your tag you are creating and select it.
Now hit OK.
Close the mask without saving.
★
Repeat with all masks.
Double click the names of the layers and rename the mask layers.
Mask 3
Mask 2
Mask 1
Open the elements of your choice and place them on the tag.
Edit > Free Transform to resize and rotate your elements.
I won't go into what element goes where, but I will show you what I have done:
Right click one of your element layers and choose Blending Options.
Give your element a drop shadow of choice.
Do this to all your element layers. Vary the distance and size to give your tag more depth.
This is what I have so far:
Highlight the layer you have made for the inside of your tag. (paper merged down onto it)
Open your tube of choice. If it has a closeup, Place the closeup over this layer and right click it in the layers pallet. Create Clipping Mask.
Edit > Transform > Flip Horizontal
Right click and choose Blending Options.
Fill Opacity: 50%
Blend Mode: Luminosity
Highlight your topmost layer and place your fullsize tube.
Give it a drop shadow.
COPYRIGHTS!!!
Add a name or wordart. Add layer styles if you want. I added a stroke, gradient overlay and drop shadow.
And that is it!
Hide the back white layer by clicking on the eye icon beside the thumbnail in the layers pallet.
Save your tag as a .png or .jpg
And this is my result:
I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.
Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.
Back to all tutorials