Liadan✦MesMY MES, MY WAY

REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE

Give me a rose

An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.

finished.png ​



Materials Needed:
  • Prepared mask(s) of choice. I am using a couple of my own for this tutorial.
  • Scrap by Hungry Hill called Dark Mistress
  • Tube by the artist of your choice. I am using the work of Barbara Jensen. Please do not use this image unless you have a license to do so. This image can be found in Pack 21 in the 3packs category.




I am going to assume you are using 3 masks as I am.

You have your masks prepared, right? Good.
Open a new 550x550 pixel image. (you can use any size, this is just my standard)
Place your prepared masks on the canvas. (Just drag and drop them onto your new canvas)

Now lets make sure our masks are centered on the tag.

Select > All
Layer > Align Layers to Selection > Horizontal Center
Layer > Align Layers to Selection > Vertical Center
Select > None

Repeat this for the second and third masks.

Now highlight the bottom mask in your layers pallet.
Open one of the papers from the kit and place it on your tag.
Right click the paper in the layers pallet and choose Create Clipping Mask.
Right click it again and Merge Down.

Repeat this for the other two masks.

For the elements, I am not going to go into vivid detail about what I put where.
So instead, I am going to show you what I have done.
Remember that Edit > Free Transform is for moving, rotating, and resizing your elements.

1.gif

After you have your elements placed, right click each of the layers and choose Blending Options.
In the left menu, choose Drop Shadow and give your elements a shadow of choice.
Remember that varying your shadows will give your tag more depth.

Grab your selection wand and click on the inside fo the red frames.
Hold the Shift key and click inside the other side fo the red frame.
Select > Modify > Expand: 3
Highlight the layer UNDER your frames.
Layer > New > Layer... > name it Frame Inner
Edit > Fill: White (doesn't really matter what color)

Grab another paper and place it on your canvas.
Right click the paper layer and Create Clipping Mask.
Right click again and Merge Down.

To give this layer more depth:
Right click the Frame Inner layer to bring up the Blending Options.
Give this layer an Inner Shadow. Distance: 25; Size: 40

Ok now we are going to add our tube. Here comes a tricky part.

Highlight the round frame layer.
Place your tube on the tag.
Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal All.
CTRL + click on the frame layer.
Make sure you still have your tube layer highlighted with the mask selected. (the white part that seems to be 'attached' to your layer)
2.jpg

Now erase the parts of your tube that are on the frame.
Select > Deselect
Now erase the parts outside the frame that shouldn't be there.

Give your tube a drop shadow.

We are using the mask for 2 reasons with this tut.
One: you can easily 'put back' any parts you erased by 'painting' it back on. Use the brush tool set to white to fix any mistakes.
Two: The blending options allow you to keep the shadow from entering the area where the mask is present.
I will show you the difference now.

There is a checkbox inside the blending options that says: Layer Mask hides effects
Click it.
2.jpg

This will hide the shadow that is popping out over the frame.
It is a very subtle difference, but you will notice it.

Now create a new layer above the tube.
Use your brush set at a large soft size to create a shadow at the base of your tube.
Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur - If needed.

Right click this layer in the layers pallet and choose Create Clipping Mask.

3.gif

Have you added your copyrights? Good, let's continue.

Highlight the Frame Inner layer that you created earlier.
Open the closeup of the tube you are using.
Place it on the tag and position it where you wish it to appear behind the frame.
Right click the closeup layer and Create Clipping Mask.

No need for drop shadows on this layer. But you would want to adjust the way it looks.
Right click to bring up the Blending Options.
Set the Blend Mode to Pin Light.
Set the Opacity to 50%.
Click ok.

Duplicate the layer (right click > duplicate layer)
Bring up the blending options again.
Blend Mode: Overlay
Opacity: 50%

Highlight the topmost layer of your tag.
Now add a name or snag phrase. Let's not have any blanks :)

If you like, you can also add a layer style to your name/phrase.
Here is the style I have used:
4.jpg 5.jpg 6.jpg 7.jpg 8.jpg

If you have a white background, click the eye icon in in the layers pallet beside the thumbnail of the layer to hide it.

Save your image as a .png

If you want to animate your tag, wait just a little bit before you save.



Prepare your work area for animation.

Optional Animation This is a very simple animation using only layer styles. This can be used on loads of different things :)
We are going to animated the glitter Stroke of the layer (or whatever pattern you used).

Highlight your name (or snag phrase)

Duplicate your frame in the Animation window. (little folded paper icon at the bottom of your animation window)

Back to the layers pallet.
Right click your name layer to bring up the blending options.
Choose the Stroke.
If you hover your tag, you see that your cursor turns into the move tool.
9.jpg

Now just move your pattern. Doesn't really matter how far or what direction you move it.

In your animation window, you should only have 2 frames at the moment.
Highlight your first frame and then click the arrow icon at the top right of your animation window.
10.jpg

When the box pops up, set it like this:
11.jpg

Now you should have 4 frames in your animation window.

Set your frame delay to 0.1 sec.

Now to save your animation.




And this is my result:

finished.gif

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.




♥♥♥​
 

Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.

Back to all tutorials