REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE
Melody
An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.
Materials Needed:
- Template by Me. Please do not redistribute.
- Scrap kit from CrazyCarita called Mauve Melody. PTE New Releases.
- Tube by the artist of your choice. I am using the gorgeous artwork of Barbara Jensen. Please do not use this image unless you have a license to do so.
Tips:
- Right click the thumbnail of a layer and Select Pixels for the same effect of the PSP float/defloat option.
- Using layer masks, you can erase portions of a layer without destroying the layer.
- Clipping masks are your friend.
- Use the wand tool to select the inside of frames and then Selection > Modify > Expand: 5-10 pixels. Then add a new layer below the frame and fill with white. This will add the inside to your frames. You can then clip a paper to the filled layer.
Open your template in Photoshop.
Highlight the Mask 1 layer in the layers pallet.
Open a paper from the kit and place it on your template.
Right click the paper layer in the layers pallet and Create Clipping Mask.
Right click again and Merge Down.
Highlight the Mask 2 layer in the layers pallet.
Open another paper from the kit and place it on the tag.
Right click and Create Clipping Mask.
Right click and Merge Down.
Highlight the Sparkles layer in the layers pallet.
Open another paper of choice and place it on the tag.
Right click > Create Clipping Mask
Right click > Merge Down.
Now open various elements from the kit and place them on your tag.
You can arrange them however you like.
I will just show you where I have placed my elements:
Right click one of your element layers and choose Blending Options.
Give your element a drop shadow of choice.
Repeat all this for all your element layers.
Refer to the tips at the top of this page to fill the inside of your frame on a separate layer below the frame.
Open a paper of choice and Create Clipping Mask to your filled layer.
Right click the paper layer and Merge Down.
Now here comes a little bit of thinking.
We want to place our tube behind the frame but above the other elements, so highlight the layer that is below the layer you just created for the inside of your frame.
Open your tube and place it on your tag and give it a drop shadow like before.
Now is a good time to add your copyrights. (highlight the top layer first)
Add a name to the tag and whatever layer styles you would like on it.
Here is what I have so far:
If you only want a static tag without animation, you may stop here. If you would like to add the animation, please proceed.
Prepare your work area for animation.
Animation Highlight your Mask 1 layer in the layers pallet.
Duplicate it once.
Double click the name of this layer in the layers pallet and rename it to Noise.
Duplicate this Noise layer 3 times. (4 Noise layers)
Highlight the original Noise layer and do the following:
Filter > Noise > Add Noise: 10
Filter > Sketch > Waterpaper:
- Fiber length: 10
- Brightness: 50
- Contrast: 50
- Amount: 100%
- Radius: 1px
Repeat those steps for all your Noise copies.
Make sure your Animation Window is open.
Hide the Noise Copies.
Duplicate the frame at the bottom of your Animation Window.
Hide the original Noise layer and Unhide Noise Copy.
Duplicate the frame again.
Hide the Noise Copy layer and Unhide Noise Copy 2.
Duplicate the frame again.
Hide the Noise Copy 2 layer and Unhide Noise Copy 3.
You should now have 4 frames in your Animation Window.
Set your frame delay to 0.1 sec.
Now to save your animation.
And this is my result:
I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.
♥♥♥
Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.
Back to all tutorials