REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE
Rock Revolution
An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.
Materials Needed:
- Template (Vector PSD format)
- Elements
- Mask of your choice
- Tube of choice. I am using the beautiful work of Keith Garvey. This tube was purchased from MyPSPTubes.com but is now available at PSPTubesEmporium!
Xero Fritillary
Penta.com Jeans
Alien Skin Eye Candy (I am using 5, but 6 will more than likely work in a similar manner)
Open all your materials.
Select your background layer.
Place and/or resize your mask to fit your tag.
Now let's add some layer effects to your template.
Double click your mask layer and add a color overlay to match the tube you are going to use.
Now select your "Large Bars" layer and add these layer styles:
Use the same layer style for your "Small Bars" layer. Change the color overlay to a complimenting color.
Select your "Circle Back" layer and add a color overlay. Choose a color that best fits with the other colors and your tube.
Open a new 50px by 50px image. Fill the canvas with 50% Gray. Now go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise with a setting of about 65.
Now go to Edit > Define Pattern. Give your pattern a name and click OK. Now close that image.
Now add these layer styles to your "Circle Frame" layer (change the color overlay to match your tube):
Select your "Dots" layer and add an outer glow:
Select your "Front Bars" layer and create a new layer. Name it "Fritillary". Edit > Fill that layer with 50% gray.
Now go to Filter > Xero > Fritillary with these settings:
Now right click that layer and Create Clipping Mask.
Add these layer styles to your "Front Bars" layer (change the color overlay to match your tube):
Select your "Skull and Crossbones" layer and add these layer styles:
Select your "Squares" layer and create a new layer. Name this layer "Jeans". Fill this layer with 50% gray.
Go to Filter > Penta.com > Jeans with these settings:
Now right click that layer and Create Clipping Mask.
Now add these styles to the "Squares" layer (change the color overlay to match your tube):
Add the same outer glow to your "Words" layer that you have been using for all the others.
Now to add your elements.
Be sure you have your elements.psd file open.
Select your "Fritillary" layer on your tag and then paste your "Notes" layer from your elements.psd above that layer. (just drag the "Notes" layer onto your tag canvas)
Resize that layer as you see fit. Edit > Transform > Free transform
Now select your "Jeans" layer and position your "Vinyl" and "Guitar" elements. Use your free transform option to resize and rotate your elements. Note that right clicking will allow you to change the perspective of your layer.
Now add your "Tie" and "Girly Skull" to your tag. Remember that you can drag and drop the layers onto the tag from the Layers pallet.
Now add a drop shadow of choice to the elements. Just right click the layers and choose blending options. Drop shadow is the very first option.
You may also change the hue of your elements by choosing the Color Overlay option and setting the blend mode to Hue.
You should now have something like this:
Now select your "Jeans" layer.
We want to create a layer group. Layer > New... > Group...
Name it "Animation" and click OK.
Add a new layer and name it "Smoke 1". This should put the layer inside your group.
Now use your rectangle selection tool to make a selection something like this:
Now go to Filter > Alien Skin Eye Candy > Smoke with these (or similar) settings:
Do not deselect.
Create a new layer. Call it "Smoke 2". Smoke again with same settings. This time, hit the "Random Seed" button once or twice.
Create a new layer. Call it "Smoke 3". Smoke again with same settings. Hit the "Random Seed" button once or twice.
Now we want to contain the smoke inside the Squares area.
CTRL + Click on the "Squares" layer. (or right click the thumbnail and Select Layer Transparency)
Now highlight your "Animation" group.
Go to Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal Selection.
Now select your "Smoke 1" layer and change the blend mode to Overlay. (top of the layers pallet)
Do the same for the other two smoke layers.
Select your "Smoke 3" layer and place your tube over your right Square. (It should still be inside the animation group) Change its blend mode to Luminosity and add a drop shadow if you wish.
Now select your "Girly Skull" layer and place your tube once again above the Left Square.
Add a drop shadow of your choice. You may also want to use the Perspective Shadow by Alien Skin.
Now add your name and all copyright information. You may choose to add layer styles to your name or not.
Here is mine so far:
Now If you want your tag animated, you may proceed. Otherwise, you can stop here if you like

Make sure your animation window is open. Window > Animation
You will see that your first frame is already there.
Now hide your "Smoke 2" and "Smoke 3" layers. (eye icon in your layers pallet)
In your animations window, click on the icon that looks like a piece of paper to duplicate the frame.
Hide your "Smoke 1" layer and UNhide your "Smoke 2" layer.
Duplicate your frame again in the animations window.
Hide "Smoke 2" and UNhide "Smoke 3".
Now select your "Frame 2" in your animations window.
Select your "Circle Frame" in your layers pallet.
Double click the Effects Icon and choose Pattern Overlay.
Do not change any settings. Instead, with the window still open, drag the pattern on your canvas. Just move it a little and click OK.
Now select "Frame 3" in your animations window and do the same set as above to move the pattern overlay. (Same layer)
You should have 3 frames in your animations window.
We want to set the delay of the frames higher than 0.
Select all your frames. (click first frame, then shift+click your last frame)
Click the arrow beside the number at the bottom of one of the frames. Set this number to 0.08 (there is an "Other" option) You may also play with this setting to get the effect you want.
To view your animation, simply click the play button.
Now to save your animation:
Go to File > Save for Web
This will bring up a completely different save window than you are probably used to. Simply set everything like so:
Note that these settings are the ones that I use for the background of the posts of THIS forum.
And this is my result:
I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.
Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.
Back to all tutorials