REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE
Rockin
An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.
Materials Needed:
- Template by Me
- Mask by Me
- Scrap by Lacrolita called No Angels
- Mac's Remove White Filter. This is a tripod site and will more than likely open popup windows.
- Tube by the artist of your choice. I am using Elias Chatzoudis. This tube was purchased from MyPSPTubes.com but is now available at PSPTubesEmporium!
Open your template in Photoshop.
Delete the © layer.
Open the mask and using your move tool, move it onto your tag canvas. Layer > Arrange > Send to Back.
Now I am going to show you the lazy way to remove the black from your mask.
Edit > Adjustments > Invert
Filter > Mac's > Remove White
Edit > Adjustments > Invert
Now you have a clean transparent mask to work with

Double click the name of the layer in the layers pallet and rename it to "Mask".
The layers should be as follows
- Dots
- Diamond
- Circles
- Bars
- Mask
Move it onto your canvas and then Edit > Free Transform:
Now just click the Check to apply it.
Now right click the paper layer and Create Clipping Mask.
Right click again and Merge Down.
Ok now we are going to play around with the vector masks. If you notice, each of the layers (except the Mask layer) have a vector mask attached to them:
We are going to transfer these vectors onto the papers we will be using.
Open Paper2.png and Free Transform using the same settings as above.
Now drag the vector mask from the Bars layer onto the paper. (just drag and drop)
Now delete the Bars layer and rename the paper layer to "Bars".
Now your layers pallet should look like this:
Open Paper7.png and repeat the steps for the Circles layer.
Open Paper1.png and repeat the steps for the Diamond layer.
We are going to leave the dots white at this point.
Now let's add some layer styles to our tag.
Right click the layer and choose Blending Options.
Select the Bars layer and add these styles:
Apply the same style to your Circles, Diamond, and Dots layers.
This is what you should have so far:
Select the Diamond layer and open buckle3.png and move it onto your canvas.
Edit > Free Transform:
Open wings2.png and move it onto your canvas.
Edit > Free Transform:
Open pin2.png and move it onto your canvas.
Edit > Free Transform:
Now a little fun part.
Use your eraser and erase just a little part of the pin, like so (brightened for visibility):
Create a new layer. Layer > New > Layer... Name it "Shading".
Layer > Arrange > Send Backward
Now grab your paintbrush tool and paint something like this:
Now go to Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur: 3
Now put two black dots where the ends of the pin meet the paper:
Select the pin layer and right click. Merge Down.
Now add a drop shadow to each of these by right clicking and choosing Blending Options.
I have the default drop shadow set to Linear Burn instead of Multiply.
Now let's put some depth into our tag.
Select the Dots layer and open wire.png
Move it onto your canvas and Free Transform:
Filter > Blur > Gaussian Blur: 1
Now add a drop shadow:
Open heart4.png and move it onto your canvas.
Edit > Free Transform:
Add the same blur and shadow as the previous layer.
Do this to other elements if you wish.
Select the Dots layer and open your tube. Move it onto your canvas.
Now is a good time to reposition any elements to better suit your tube.
Add a drop shadow of choice to the tube.
Now get that copyright stuff on there so you don't forget.
Now to add the "sparkles".
Select a round brush. 24px size with a hardness of 0
Then set the brush settings to:
If you cannot do this yourself, I have created the layer if you would like to use it.
Now just add a name and give it the styles you wish. I just used a stroke and drop shadow.
If you only want a static tag without animation, you may stop here. If you would like to add the animation, please proceed.
Make sure your animation window is open. Window > Animation
You will see that your first frame is already there.
Select your Dots layer and add a new layer group. Layer > New > Group... Name it Animation.
Now CTRL + Click on the Dots layer's Vector Mask image in the layers pallet. This will select the pixels of the layer.
Still on your group, Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal Selection.
Layer > New > Layer... Name it 1
Hide ALL the layers except the group and the Dots layer. Just click the eye beside the layers' thumbnail images.
Be sure you are still on the "1" layer. Use your fill bucket and look at the top of the screen. Set the Tolerance to 100 and check the All Layers box.
Now fill the first dot and ever 3rd after it with a color that compliments your tag.
Create a new layer and name it 2.
Fill the next dots in line.
Create a new layer and name it 3.
Fill the next dots in line.
Now you can Unhide all of your layers.
Now we want to animate it.
Hide the layers 2 and 3.
Now we want to set the delay of the frames higher than 0.
Click the arrow beside the number at the bottom of one of the frames. Set this number to 1.00 (there is an "Other" option) You may also play with this setting to get the effect you want.
Now Create a new frame by clicking on the little icon at the bottom of your animations window.
Hide the layer 1 and Unhide the layer 2.
Create a new frame.
Hide the layer 2 and Unhide the layer 3.
To view your animation, simply click the play button.
Now to save your animation:
Go to File > Save for Web
This will bring up a completely different save window than you are probably used to. Simply set everything like so:
Note that these settings are the ones that I use for the background of the posts of THIS forum.
And this is my result:
I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.
Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.
Back to all tutorials