REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE
Sparkling Rose
An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.
Materials Needed:
- My Template
- Alien Skin Xenofex 2 Constellation
- I have used a wonderful rose tube by Rainbow Coffi. Any rose image will work.
Open your template in Photoshop.
Right click on "Mask 1" layer and open the Blending Options. Add a color overlay to this layer. Pick a color from your rose and change the Blend Mode to Color.
Do the same thing to your "Mask 2" layer.
Lower the opacity of the "Mask 2" layer to 85%.
Now open your tube and use your Move tool (top right on the tools pallet) to move the rose onto your tag canvas.
Add this layer style to your rose:
Drop Shadow
- Blend Mode: Color Burn
- Opacity: 75%
- Angle: 30
- Distance: 0
- Spread: 0
- Size: 25
- Blend Mode: Color Burn
- Opacity: 55%
- Spread: 0
- Size: 55
Now hide your mask layers (click the eye beside the layer in the layers pallet)
Go to Select > Color Range (top menu) select a color directly from your rose.
Edit > Copy Merged (or Shift + CTRL + c)
Edit > Paste (or CTRL + v)
Duplicate this layer two more times (total three)
Now UNhide your mask layers.
Here is what your Layers Pallet should look like:
Now select your original "Layer 1"
Go to Filter > Noise > Add Noise: 5
Do this for "Layer 1 copy" and "Layer 1 copy 2"
Select your original "Layer 1"
Now to add the constellation filter.
Filter > Alien Skin Xenofex II > Constellation:
Do this for your other two copies changing ONLY the random seed. (just push the button and then push OK)
Now hide the first two copies.
Add the name or other text you wish. Now you may add any layer styles you wish. I have added a gradient overlay, stroke, and drop shadow to mine.
Add any copyright information.
If you only want a static tag without animation, you may stop here. If you would like to add the animation, please proceed.
Make sure your animation window is open. Window > Animation
You will see that your first frame is already there.
Now Create a new frame by clicking on the little icon at the bottom of your animations window.
Now Hide your first copy and unhide the second.
Duplicate your frame again.
Hide the second copy and UNhide the third.
You should now have three frames in your animation window.
Now we want to set the delay of the frames higher than 0.
Select all your frames. (click first frame, then shift+click your last frame)
Click the arrow beside the number at the bottom of one of the frames. Set this number to 0.08 (there is an "Other" option) You may also play with this setting to get the effect you want.
To view your animation, simply click the play button.
Now to save your animation:
Go to File > Save for Web
This will bring up a completely different save window than you are probably used to. Simply set everything like so:
Note that these settings are the ones that I use for the background of the posts of THIS forum.
And this is my result:
I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.
Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.
Back to all tutorials