Liadan✦MesMY MES, MY WAY

REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE

Spooky Night

An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.




Materials Needed:
  • Prepared mask of choice. I am using my own for this tutorial.
  • Scrap by Wicked Creationz Scraps called Let it be Captured
  • Tube by the artist of your choice. I am using two tubes from Acyd Reflux. Please do not use these images unless you have a license to do so.





This tutorial will end up with TONS of layers. If you are not comfortable with working in large scale, it would be best to try out some of my other tutorials first :)

You have your mask prepared, right? Good.
Open a new 550x550 pixel image. (you can use any size, this is just my standard)
Place your prepared mask on the canvas.
Just drag and drop it onto your new canvas.

Now lets make sure our mask is centered on the tag.

Select > All
Layer > Align Layers to Selection > Horizontal Center
Layer > Align Layers to Selection > Vertical Center
Select > None

Open one of the papers from the kit and place it on your tag.
Right click the paper in the layers pallet and choose Create Clipping Mask.
Right click it again and Merge Down.

For the elements, I am not going to go into vivid detail about what I put where.
So instead, I am going to show you what I have done.
Remember that Edit > Free Transform is for moving, rotating, and resizing your elements.

1.gif

After you have your elements placed, right click each of the layers and choose Blending Options.
In the left menu, choose Drop Shadow and give your elements a shadow of choice.
Remember that varying your shadows will give your tag more depth.

Now place your tube(s) on the tag and position them where you want.
Add those copyrights now.

Give your tube(s) a drop shadow, also.

Now add a name or snag phrase to your tag. Let's not have any blanks :)

If you like, you can also add a layer style to your name/phrase.
Open another paper and place it above the name.
Right click the paper and Create Clipping Mask.
Now add some layer styles to your name.
I used a stroke, drop shadow...
and gradient overlay of black and white set to soft light.



If you only want a static tag without animation, you may stop here. If you would like to add the animation, please proceed.



Prepare your work area for animation.

Animation Did you add the skull frame? Awesome. That is what we are going to be animating.
If you used another frame, it will need to be perfectly round.
The angles may also need adjusted to accommodate the frame you are using.

Highlight it in the layers pallet and right click.
Convert to a Smart Object. (this will keep it from doing that annoying blur)
Then Duplicate Layer.
Now we are going to rotate it.
Edit > Free Transform.
The Angle is the only entry you should change:
2.jpg
Duplicate it again and this time put the angle at 10.
Duplicate it again and set the angle to 15.
Duplicate it again and set it to 20.
Duplicate it again and set it to 25.
You should now have 6 frame layers.
Highlight the original layer.
Use the Eye icon beside the thumbnails in the layers pallet and hide all the copies. (keep the original visible.

Now to the animation window. Pay close attention here. One wrong move can make your animation jumpy.
Frame#1: Already there.
Frame#2: Duplicate the first frame and hide the original skull frame layer. Unhide the first copy.
Frame#3: Duplicate the second frame and hide the first skull frame copy and unhide the third.
Frame#4: Duplicate the third frame and hide the second skull frame copy and unhide the third.
Frame#5: Duplicate the fourth frame and hide the third skull frame copy and unhide the fourth.
Frame#6: Duplicate the fifth frame and hide the fourth skull frame copy and unhide the fifth.

OPTIONAL!!
This is tricky. I am going to show you how to add a second animation to your tag. If you are not confident with adding more, you can just skip this step and go on to the frame delay setting.

Highlight the first Animation Frame in the animation window.
Highlight the Glitter layer in the layers pallet.
Make sure it is a raster layer (right click and Rasterize Layer)

Duplicate the glitter layer 5 times. (total of 6 glitter layers)
Highlight the original glitter layer.
Filter > Noise > Add Noise: 15 / Gaussian / Monochromatic
Repeat the noise with all the copies.

Hide all the copies and keep the original visible.
Highlight Frame2 in the animation window.
Hide all glitter layers but the first copy.
Highlight Frame 3 in the animation window.
Hide all glitter layers but the second copy.
Highlight Frame 4 in the animation window.
Hide all glitter layers but the third copy.
Highlight Frame 5 in the animation window.
Hide all glitter layers but the fourth copy.
Highlight Frame 6 in the animation window.
Hide all glitter layers but the fifth copy.

Set your frame delay to 0.1 sec.

Now to save your animation.



And this is my result:



I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.


♥♥♥​
 

Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.

Back to all tutorials