REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE
The Other Side
An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.
Materials Needed:
- Scrap kit by Ali called The Other Side of Wonderland.
- Two masks of choice. I have used my own masks from the Downloadable section of our forum.
- Tube by the artist of your choice. I am using the wonderful work of Artist. Please do not use this image unless you have a license to do so.
Tips:
- Right click the thumbnail of a layer and Select Pixels for the same effect of the PSP float/defloat option.
- Using layer masks, you can erase portions of a layer without destroying the layer.
- Clipping masks are your friend.
- Use the wand tool to select the inside of frames and then Selection > Modify > Expand: 5-10 pixels. Then add a new layer below the frame and fill with white. This will add the inside to your frames. You can then clip a paper to the filled layer.
Open a new 550x550 pixel canvas.
Flood fill the first layer with white so you can see what you are doing easier.
Open one of your masks and move it onto the canvas.
Prepare your mask using the technique here.
Open one of the papers from the kit and move it onto your canvas.
Right click the paper in the layers pallet and choose Create Clipping Mask.
Right click again and Merge Down.
Open your second mask and move it onto the canvas.
Prepare it using the same technique as above.
Open a second paper of choice and place it on the canvas.
Right click and Create Clipping Mask.
Right click again and Merge Down.
Here is what I have so far:
Now start opening your elements and place them on your canvas.
Use Edit > Free Transform to move, resize, and rotate your elements.
Here are the elements I have used:
Now add your favorite drop shadows to the elements.
Right click an element layer in the layers pallet and choose Blending Options.
In the left menu of the popup window, choose Drop Shadow.
Play around with the settings to get the shadow you want.
Repeat with your other element layers.
Vary the shadows to give your tag more depth.
Get rid of stray shadows This is completely optional, but it will make your tag appear "cleaner"
This is a tricky part, so it might take a couple of tries to get it just right.
Select > All Layers
CTRL + Click the white background layer to UNhighlight it.
Layers > Group Layers
This will put all your layers into a group.
To expand this group, click the little arrow beside the group in the layers pallet.
Right click the thumbnail of the of the bottommost element layer (the frame).
Choose Select Pixels.
Right click each of the other element thumbnails and Add Transparency Mask.
This will create a selection of all your tag elements:
Highlight your group in the layers pallet (the 'layer' with the folder icon)
Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal Selection.
This will get rid of any drop shadows outside of the tag area.
Right click the group in the layers pallet and choose Merge Group.
Right click the MASK on the layer in the layers pallet and choose Apply Mask.
Now add your tube to the tag and give it a drop shadow.
ADD COPYRIGHTS!
Now add a name or other wording to your tag, because we don't want any blank tags.
Apply any layer styles to the text you wish.
I have added a Stroke, Gradient Overlay, and Drop Shadow.
Now you can hide your white background layer and save it as a PNG.
And this is my result:
I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.
♥♥♥
Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.
Back to all tutorials