Liadan✦MesMY MES, MY WAY

REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE

Toxic Mess

An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.

finished.gif ​



Materials Needed:




Unzip your supplies.

Open the template in Photoshop.

Select layer 6 and open the animation.psd
You will notice that the animation is in a group. Grab the group from the layers pallet and drag it onto your template.

Now use your move tool to position it over the dots they belong to.

Ok before we worry about the actual animation, we are going to build up our tag. This will eliminate any chance of little booboos in the the animation itself.

Close the group by clicking the arrow beside the group name in the layers pallet. (just for ease of work)

1.jpg 2.jpg

Select layer 1 from the template and open ToxicMessPapers_SBR17.jpg
Move it onto your template.
Right click it and choose Create Clipping Mask.
Double click the name in the layers pallet and rename it to reflect the origial layer. (1)

Select layer 2 and open SBR05.jpg
Move it onto your template and Create Clipping Mask.
Rename this layer to 2

Select layer 3 and open SBR18.jpg
Move it onto your template and Create Clipping Mask.
Rename this layer to 3

Ok, now we want to get rid of some layers.

If you look in the layers pallet, you will see the vector masks attached to the shape layers.

Drag these masks onto the paper layers above them.
5.gif

Now delete the original layer 1 (right click > Delete Layer)

Repeat this process for the other two papers.

Select the 2 layer and open SBR38.png (silver rose)
Move it onto your canvas and position it where desired.

Open SBR48.png and move it onto your canvas (pink bow). Position it where desired.

Select the layer 3 and open SBR04.png and place where desired. Right click and Merge Down.
If it asks you to apply or preserve the mask, Click Preserve. This will keep your vector mask intact.

Open SBR03 and move it onto your canvas. Position where desired and merge down. Preserve the mask once again.

Select the grouping (Group 1) and open SBR02. Move it onto your canvas.
Edit > Free Transform:
6.jpg

Open SBR07 and move it onto your canvas. Place where desired.

If you don't mind spiders, open SBR27 and move it onto your canvas. Free Transform to whatever you would like and place where desired.

Add any other elements you want to the tag.

You can rotate and resize the elements by going to Edit > Free Transform. Note that you can use your cursor to move the points around directly on the canvas. You do not need to enter specific values in the boxes.

After you have added all of your elements, we need to add some layer styles to them.

Right click on one of the elements and choose Blending Options. This will bring up the styles window.
Simply add a drop shadow. This is the one I have used on most all of the elements:
7.jpg

This is what you should have so far, or something similar.
8.jpg

Now is a good time to resize your tag. Otherwise it will be huge.

Now open you tube and move it onto your canvas.

CTRL + Click on layer 3's vector mask (the big circle one). This will create the selection around the circle. Now make sure you have your tube layer selected.

Now go to Layer > Layer Mask > Reveal Selection.

Now just add a drop shadow of choice.

Select the Big circle layer. Layer 3

If you have a closeup of your tube, move it now onto your canvas. Right click and Create Clipping Mask.

If you like, you want, you may bring up the blending options (right click) and change the opacity of this layer to around 50%.

Add that copyright info now so you don't forget.

Add a name or whatever other wording you want to add on it.

Go to Image > Trim. This will get rid of all the excess space around the tag.

If you only want a static tag without animation, you may stop here. If you would like to add the animation, please proceed.



Make sure your animation window is open. Window > Animation

You will see that your first frame is already there.

Now Create a new frame by clicking on the little icon at the bottom of your animations window.

14.jpg

You remember that group that you had to close up at the first of the tut? Now open it back up.

Now hide "Frame 1" and Unhide "Frame 2" (just click the eye beside the layer)
9.jpg

Duplicate your frame again and repeat the same procedure for Frame 3 (hide Frame 2 and unhide Frame 3)

Repeat this until you get 8 frames in your animation.

Now we want to set the delay of the frames higher than 0.

Select all your frames. (click first frame, then shift+click your last frame)

Click the arrow beside the number at the bottom of one of the frames. Set this number to 0.08 (there is an "Other" option) You may also play with this setting to get the effect you want.

30.jpg

To view your animation, simply click the play button.

Now to save your animation:

Go to File > Save for Web

This will bring up a completely different save window than you are probably used to. Simply set everything like so:

Note that these settings are the ones that I use for the background of the posts of THIS forum.

15.jpg



And this is my result:

finished.gif

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.
 

Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.

Back to all tutorials