Liadan✦MesMY MES, MY WAY

REBEL DEZIGNS · TUTORIAL ARCHIVE

We Rock

An original Photoshop tutorial by René Kunert (giZZY), rebuilt from the preserved archive.

werock.gif ​



Materials Needed:
  • Patterns NOTE! You must install these patterns BEFORE opening your template. (just drag and drop them into photoshop)
  • Template
  • Two tubes by the same artist of your choice. I am using David Saavedra. This tube was purchased from MyPSPTubes.com but is now available at PSPTubesEmporium!




Open your template in Photoshop.

Let's add some layer styles. (double click on your layer, or right click and choose Blending Options)

Select your "rectangle" layer and add an outer glow as shown here:

1.jpg

Add the same outer glow to your "square frames" layer.

Select your "stripes" layer and change the blending mode to soft light, and the opacity to 50%. (Top of the layers pallet)

Select your "circle" layer and add these styles:

2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg 5.jpg

Now select your "heart" layer and add these styles:

6.jpg 7.jpg 8.jpg 9.jpg

Now select your "dots" layer and just add a 1px black stroke.

Here is what you should have so far:

10.jpg

Select your "squares" layer.

Now open your tubes.

Copying your tube There are a couple of ways you can add your tubes to your canvas.

Select > All
Edit > Copy
Go to your tag canvas
Edit > Paste

OR

Drag the layer that has your tube on it out of the layers pallet directly onto your tag canvas.

OR

Highlight your tube layer in the layers pallet.
Use your move tool to move the tube onto your tag canvas.

Just use the one that works for you.

Place your first tube over the left square. Place your second tube over the right square.

If the tubes overlap, simply use your eraser tool to remove that part.

Merge the tube layers together. (Right click the top tube layer and Merge Down)

Now right click your merged layer and choose Create Clipping Mask.

Now is a good time to add your copyright information, so you don't end up forgetting.

Add any words or name that you wish. (You may also add layer styles to boost the effect of the tag)

Now you have the basics of your tag finished.

Now on to the animation part.

First we want to make some of our dots white.

Use your fill bucket tool set to 100 tolerance (at the top of the screen) and "All Layers" and "Contiguous" are checked.

11.jpg

Now create a new layer above your "dots" layer.

Fill every third dot with white. It doesn't look real good, but to fix that, right click it and Create Clipping Mask.

Create a new layer and fill the next dot with white.

Create a clipping mask for this layer also.

Do this once more making sure that you create a new layer and Create the Clipping Mask when you are done.

Make sure your animation window is open. Window > Animation

You will see that your first frame is already there.

Hide last two dots layers.

Now Create a new frame by clicking on the little icon at the bottom of your animations window.

14.jpg

Now hide the first white dots layer and unhide the second.

Duplicate your frame again and Hide your second white dots layer and unhide your last.

You should have three frames.

12.jpg

Now we are going to tween these layers to create a smooth transition.

Select your first frame in your animations window.

Now you will see an icon at the bottom that looks like this:

4.jpg

Click that button and it will bring up a window. Set yours to look like this:

13.jpg

Now select your third frame (because the second one is the tweened frame)

Tween this layer the same way you did the first.

Now select your last frame. Hit the tween button again but note that if you do not change it, you will be tweening into the frame before it. So instead, let's change that to "First Frame" in the drop down box.

14.jpg

Now you should have 6 frames.

But we are not finished yet. We want the glitter in the circle to move around...

Select your SECOND frame in the animations window.

Select your "circle" layer in the layers pallet.

Double click the effects icon and choose your pattern overlay.

DO NOT change the settings. Instead, move the pattern around on your TAG CANVAS. Then just click OK.

Do the same for the rest of the frames.

This should now be the last of the animation.

Now we want to set the delay of the frames higher than 0.

Select all your frames. (click first frame, then shift+click your last frame)

Click the arrow beside the number at the bottom of one of the frames. Set this number to 0.08 (there is an "Other" option) You may also play with this setting to get the effect you want.

30.jpg

To view your animation, simply click the play button.

Now to save your animation:

Go to File > Save for Web

This will bring up a completely different save window than you are probably used to. Simply set everything like so:

Note that these settings are the ones that I use for the background of the posts of THIS forum.

15.jpg

And this is my result:

werock.gif

I hope you have enjoyed this tutorial! I would love to see your results.
 

Hosted by permission. Please link to this tutorial instead of redistributing it or its supplies.

Back to all tutorials